Application Guide

LED Auto Dealership Lighting: Display Lot, Service Drive, Shop and Showroom

Display lot, service drive, shop, showroom and perimeter LED fixtures for dealerships with published lumens, CRI and IP ratings, and the rules that apply.

A dealership is lit in six zones: the front display lot, the back or used-car lot, customer parking, the service drive and its canopy, the service shop, and the showroom with its offices and parts counter, plus the building perimeter and signage. Each zone takes a different fixture. This page lists what Auvolar sells for each zone with the output, colour rendering and ingress rating published on every product page, explains which rules apply, and shows how to size the layout before you buy. If the site has a fuel canopy or a wash bay, those zones are covered on the gas station canopy lighting and car wash lighting pages.

1. What the rules actually say

No federal rule sets a foot-candle level for a display lot or a showroom. Three things do apply:

  • Exit routes inside the building. OSHA's general industry standard requires that "Each exit route must be adequately lighted so that an employee with normal vision can see along the exit route" [S1]; exit signs and emergency lighting for the showroom and shop are covered in the emergency lighting code requirements guide.
  • Wet and damp locations outdoors and in the shop. OSHA defines a wet location as "locations unprotected and exposed to weather" or "subject to saturation with water or other liquids, such as vehicle-washing areas", and a damp location as "Partially protected locations under canopies, marquees, roofed open porches, and like locations" [S2]; fixtures in those locations "shall be identified for the purpose" [S3]. Lot, perimeter and canopy fixtures therefore need a published wet- or damp-location rating or an IP rating.
  • Local ordinances. Pole height, uplight, light trespass toward neighbouring property and curfews are set by the city's zoning code, and display lots are the use most often restricted. Design targets for the lot come from the IES outdoor-lighting practices (ANSI/IES LP-2-20, Designing Quality Lighting for People in Outdoor Environments; IES LP-11-20, Environmental Considerations for Outdoor Lighting) [S4] and from the brand standards of the manufacturer whose vehicles you sell. Rather than quote a number, run the lot in LightSpec AI with the exact fixture and agree the target with the brand and the city.

Colour rendering and colour temperature

Buyers judge paint and interiors under your lights, so two published numbers matter more here than elsewhere: CRI and CCT. Auvolar's product pages publish both. The OT area light offers Ra70 or Ra80 with Ra90 optional and CCTs from 3000 K to 6500 K [S5]; the oH high bay offers Ra70 / Ra80 / Ra90 options and 3000 K to 6500 K [S10]; the INS-D high bay offers Ra70 / Ra80 / Ra90 [S11]; the AN-TF24 troffer and the A-SFPL and AN-BP panels publish Ra80 with selectable 3500 / 4000 / 5000 K [S16][S17][S18]. Choose the higher-CRI option the page lists wherever customers inspect vehicles, and keep one CCT across the lot so adjacent rows do not look like different colours.

2. Zone A — Front display lot and back lot

The display lot is the fixture count that drives the project; it is outdoors, so every model below publishes an IP rating. All are in the area lights category.

FixturePublished output and ratingsWhere it fits
Area Light OT Series — 75–800 Wup to 109,600 lm; up to 172 lm/W; Type III / IV / V; IP66 / IK10; CCT 3000 / 4000 / 5000 / 5700 / 6500 K; CRI Ra70 / Ra80 (Ra90 optional); 100–277 V or 277–480 V; surge 10 / 20 kV optional; –40 °C to 50 °C; L90B10 > 100,000 h at 25 °C; UL Listed; FCC; seven bracket types [S5]Front display lot on tall poles where the highest output per pole and the CRI options matter
Area / Shoebox Light OT02 Series — 80–300 WType V: 15,406 / 25,505 / 37,925 / 53,209 lm at 80 / 140 / 200 / 300 W; Type III / IV / V; IP65 / IK09; polycarbonate lens; die-cast aluminium; 100–277 V or 200–480 V; L70 100,000 h [S6]Back lot and used-car rows on mid-height poles
Area / Shoebox Light PLB Series — 75–300 W12,000–45,000 lm; up to 160 lm/W; Type III / IV / V; IP66 / IK10; CCT selectable 3000 / 4000 / 5000 K; photocell receptacle built-in and external; surge 10 / 20 kV optional; 100–277 V or 277–480 V; UL Listed [S7]Customer parking and service-drive approach, with the photocell receptacle on board
Area Parking Lot Light AL Series — 150 / 300 / 500 Wup to 72,500 lm; 145 lm/W; Type III / V; CCT selectable 3000 / 4000 / 5000 K; CRI > 80; IP65; surge 10 kV; 120–277 VAC; UL Listed [S8]Lots that need high output at 277 V

Two layout rules that do not depend on a light-level target: use forward-throw (Type III / IV) optics on the perimeter poles so the light stays on the lot and off the neighbours, and keep the front row of vehicles between the poles and the street so the cars, not the poles, are what drivers see.

3. Zone B — Service drive and canopy

The service drive is where a technician writes up the car and the customer watches. It is usually a canopy — a damp location by definition, wet at the edges [S2] — so the fixtures are the same canopy luminaires used on fuel canopies, all in the garage and canopy lights category.

FixturePublished output and ratingsLocation rating as published
Garage & Canopy Light IDA Series — 40 / 60 W5,200 / 7,800 lm; 130 lm/W; IP65; 100–277 V; 130°; UL Listed; FCC; surface-mount; 0–10 V dimming; motion-sensor option [S12]"Wet location rated" [S12]
Garage & Canopy Light IDB Series — 40 / 60 W5,200 / 7,800 lm; 130 lm/W; IP65; 100–277 V; 130°; UL Listed; FCC; surface-mount [S13]not stated on the product page
Garage Canopy Light AN-CN — 40 / 60 / 70 W selectable4,800 / 7,200 / 8,400 lm; 120 lm/W; Type V, 155°; CRI 80; 120–277 VAC; ETL Listed [S14]"Wet location rated" [S14]
Garage Canopy Light A-CN Series — 45 / 60 / 80 W selectable5,400 / 7,200 / 9,600 lm; 120 lm/W; Type V, 150°; CRI 80; 120–277 V; UL Listed [S15]IP65 appears in the page text but not in the spec table; location rating not stated

Wall packs at the bay doors (section 6) fill the gap between the canopy edge and the shop.

4. Zone C — Service shop, detail bay and parts storage

The shop needs sealed, high-output fixtures at ceiling height, with the colour rendering a technician needs to spot a leak or a scratch. All high bays are in the high bay lights and linear high bay lights categories.

FixturePublished output and ratingsWhere it fits
UFO High Bay HBA Series — 100–300 Wup to 48,000 lm; 160 lm/W; CRI Ra80; CCT 4000 / 5000 K; 60° / 90° / 120° beams; IP65 / IK08; 0–10 V dimming; 100–277 V AC; –40 °F to 131 °F; UL Listed [S9]Shop bays with 20 ft and higher ceilings; the page positions it as a replacement for 400–1000 W metal halide [S9]
UFO High Bay oH Series — 60–240 W9,000 / 15,000 / 22,500 / 30,000 / 36,000 lm; 150 lm/W; CRI options Ra70 / Ra80 / Ra90; CCT 3000–6500 K; 60° / 90° / 120° / 130° selectable lens; UGR 19; universal and high voltage; 100,000 h; optional occupancy sensors; UL Listed; IP65 [S10]Where a Ra90 option is wanted for the detail bay
High Bay INS-D Series — 315–720 W170 lm/W; CRI Ra70 / Ra80 / Ra90; CCT 3000 / 4000 / 5000 / 5700 K; 15° / 30° / 60° / 120° beams; IP66 / IK10; 100–277 VAC (347 / 480 VAC optional); L90B10 100,000 h; UL Listed [S11]Very tall or hot shops (body shop, paint prep)
Linear High Bay A-HBL2/4FT — 95–250 W selectable15,675–41,250 lm; 165 lm/W; 5000 K; 120–277 VAC; pendant or chain mount; ETL Listed [S19]Rows over service lanes; the page positions it as a one-for-one replacement for T5HO / T8 fluorescent high bays [S19]
Linear High Bay AN-LB2/4FT — 165 / 300 W22,275 / 40,500 lm; 135 lm/W; CRI 80; 4000 / 5000 / 5700 K; 90° distribution; 120–277 V (2 ft) or 120–347 V (4 ft); IP65; ETL, FCC [S20]Sealed linear option for a wash-down lane
Linear High Bay A-LHB — 160 / 165 / 225 / 320 W20,800–41,600 lm; 130 lm/W; CRI 80; 4000 / 5000 K; 1–10 V dimming; 120–277 V; dry / damp location; UL, FCC [S21]Dry shop areas only (damp-location rating)
Low Bay Light A-LB Series — 50 W6,500 lm; 130 lm/W; 5000 K; 120–277 VAC; E26 or E39 base; ETL Listed [S22]Low ceilings, parts mezzanine, lamp-base retrofit

The detail or wash bay inside the shop is a wet location ("vehicle-washing areas" is OSHA's own example [S2]); use the IP65 vapor-tight fixtures in the vapor tights category there, as described on the car wash lighting page.

5. Zone D — Showroom, offices and parts counter

FixturePublished output and ratingsWhere it fits
Troffer AN-TF24-NV — 40 / 50 W5,200 / 6,500 lm; 130 lm/W; CRI Ra80; CCT 3500 / 4000 / 5000 K adjustable; 0–10 V dimming; 140°; 2 × 4 ft recessed; dry / damp location; UL, FCC [S16]Showroom and offices with a 2 × 4 grid ceiling
Tunable Panel A-SFPL — 20 / 30 / 40 W2,660 / 3,990 / 5,320 lm; 133 lm/W; CRI Ra80; 3500 / 4000 / 5000 K changeable; embedded, surface, wall or suspended mount; 120–277 VAC; ETL Listed [S17]Showroom ceilings without a grid; surface or suspended mount
Tunable Panel AN-BP — 20 / 40 Wup to 5,480 lm; 130 lm/W; 3500 / 4000 / 5000 K adjustable; 0–10 V; UGR 22; IP20; T-grid recessed; 100–277 VAC; ETL Listed [S18]Offices and the parts counter where glare control (UGR) matters

For the vehicles on the showroom floor, the usual approach is general lighting from the ceiling plus aimed accent lighting; Auvolar's catalogue does not include track or accent spotlights, so plan those separately and use the panels and troffers above for the ambient layer.

6. Zone E — Building perimeter, signage and walkways

All wall packs are in the wall packs category, floods in flood lights.

FixturePublished output and ratingsWhere it fits
Wall Pack A-WP 60–150 W9,000–22,500 lm; 150 lm/W; Type IV, rotatable 90°; IP65; 120–277 V AC; integrated photocell and 0–10 V dimming; UL Listed [S23]Service-bay doors and the building face; the page states it replaces 250–400 W HID wall packs [S23]
Wall Pack AN-FWP 100 / 150 W13,000 / 19,500 lm; 130 lm/W; full cut-off; 120–277 V; published as wet locations; UL Listed [S24]Full cut-off version next to a residential neighbour
Wall Pack A-FWP 45 / 60 / 75 W5,850 / 7,800 / 9,750 lm; 130 lm/W; 110°; CRI 70; 120–277 V; photocell option; ETL Listed [S25]Side walls and the parts entrance
Wall Pack AN-FWP02 30 / 60 W3,900 / 7,800 lm; 130 lm/W; 110°; IP65; 120–277 V; built-in dusk-to-dawn photocell; ETL Listed [S26]Personnel doors and dumpster enclosure
Wall Pack TWP 40 / 80 W5,000 / 10,000 lm; 125 lm/W; 65 × 95°; CCT 3000 / 4000 / 5000 K; "Wet location (silicone sealed)"; UL Listed [S27]Traditional wall-pack form
Wall Pack EMWP Series — 8 / 15 / 25 W1,120 / 2,100 / 3,500 lm; integrated emergency battery backup; photocell on/off; wet location; –40 °C to 50 °C; UL Listed [S28]Exterior exit doors of the showroom and shop
Adjustable Flood Light A-FL — 60–150 W selectable8,400–21,000 lm; 140 lm/W; adjustable beam; IP65; 120–277 V; 0–10 V dimming; UL Listed [S29]Monument sign, flag and the front elevation from the ground
Flood Light AN-TSFL — 30 / 50 / 70 W3,600 / 6,000 / 8,400 lm; 120 lm/W; 120°; CRI 70; IP65; wet location; UL Listed [S30]Small signs and the delivery yard
LED Bollard A-B Series — 10 / 18 / 25 W1,000 / 1,800 / 2,500 lm; CCT selectable 3000 / 4000 / 5000 K; CRI 80; IP65; IK08; 100–277 V; UL Listed [S31]Customer walkways between the lot and the showroom
Post Top & Area Light IP(s) Series — 25–300 W3,500–33,600 lm (25–240 W); 140 lm/W; IP66; IK09; NEMA photocell option; UL Listed [S32]Decorative poles at the entrance drive

7. Controls: dusk-to-dawn, after-hours dimming and sensors

A dealership lot runs at full output until closing and then wants a lower level for security until dawn:

  • Photocell. Auvolar's photocell is a twist-lock dusk-to-dawn control; the product page lists normal-voltage (100–277 V) and high-voltage (277–480 V) versions and states that if the photocell fails the lights default to ON [S33]; the spec table on the same page lists 120 V, so confirm the variant when ordering. The PLB area light carries a photocell receptacle [S7]; the A-WP and AN-FWP02 wall packs have it integrated [S23][S26].
  • 0–10 V dimming for the after-hours level. The HBA high bay, the A-FL flood, the A-WP wall pack, the IDA canopy light and the AN-TF24 troffer publish 0–10 V dimming [S9][S29][S23][S12][S16]; a lighting controller or timer drops the lot to the security level after close.
  • Occupancy in the shop and on fixtures with a Z10 base. The oH high bay offers optional occupancy sensors [S10], the IDA canopy light an integrated motion-sensor option [S12], and the microwave sensor A-SN09VR-MS-Z10 fits fixtures with a Z10 base, detecting at 15 m / 49 ft with daylight harvesting and 0–10 V output [S34]; see occupancy sensors.

8. Replacing metal halide on the lot and in the shop

Most dealership lots being upgraded still carry 400 W or 1000 W metal halide. The published data for a representative 400 W pulse-start lamp (Sylvania 64321, M400/PS/U) shows what you are replacing: initial output 31,000 lm horizontal or 36,000 lm vertical, mean output 22,400 lm or 25,500 lm, a 2–4 minute warm-up, a 5–7 minute hot restrike and a 15,000-hour rated life [S35]. Two cautions when you convert:

  • Lamp lumens are not fixture lumens. Compare delivered light on the lot with a photometric layout, not lamp lumens against the LED's published fixture lumens; the OT publishes up to 109,600 lm per fixture and the PLB 12,000–45,000 lm [S5][S7], so pole count and spacing, not watts, decide the result.
  • Attributed replacement claims. The product pages state their own equivalents (HBA: replaces up to 1000 W metal halide one-for-one [S9]; A-WP: 250–400 W HID wall packs [S23]; AN-FWP 150 W: 400 W HID [S24]; A-HBL2/4FT: T5HO / T8 fluorescent high bays [S19]). Those are the manufacturer's statements, not measurements for your lot.

9. Exits and emergency lighting

The EX05 exit sign is published as UL 924 listed for wet locations with an IP65 housing, 2.0 W, 120 / 277 VAC, a 90-minute battery and wall, end or ceiling mounting [S36] — the choice for the shop and wash bay doors; the EMWP wall pack above covers exterior exit doors. What the code requires is in the emergency lighting code requirements guide.

10. How to specify and order

  • Send the site plan with pole positions, canopy and shop dimensions to LightSpec AI, or upload your existing fixture schedule through BOM upload; the layout returns fixture positions and light levels per zone so you can agree the targets with the brand and the city.
  • Pick the CRI and CCT options from the product pages for every zone where vehicles are inspected (section 1), and keep one CCT across the lot.
  • Auvolar fixtures carry a 5-year standard manufacturer warranty, up to 10 years on select premium fixtures; in-stock items ship within 24 hours from the City of Industry, CA warehouse, and anything not in stock is confirmed with you before the order is placed [S37].

Frequently asked questions

What is the best lighting for a car dealership lot?

A pole-mounted area light with forward-throw optics on the perimeter and the highest CRI option the page lists. Auvolar's OT Series publishes up to 109,600 lm, IP66 / IK10 and Ra70 / Ra80 with Ra90 optional [S5]; the PLB publishes 12,000–45,000 lm with a built-in photocell receptacle [S7]. The number of poles comes from a photometric layout, not from watts.

What CRI and colour temperature should a showroom have?

The product pages for Auvolar's troffers and panels publish CRI Ra80 with 3500 / 4000 / 5000 K selectable [S16][S17][S18]; the oH and INS-D high bays offer Ra90 options for the shop [S10][S11]. Use the higher CRI option wherever paint and interiors are judged, and keep one CCT per zone.

Do dealership lot lights need to be wet-location rated?

Yes. Outdoors is a wet location by OSHA's definition [S2] and fixtures there must be identified for it [S3]. Every area light, wall pack and flood on this page publishes an IP rating; the canopy fixtures for the service drive are listed with their published location rating in section 3.

Is there a required light level for a display lot?

No federal rule sets one. Targets come from the IES outdoor-lighting practices [S4], the vehicle brand's standards and the city's zoning code, which may cap brightness and uplight. Run the layout in LightSpec AI and agree the target before ordering.

How do I replace 1000 W metal halide shop lights?

The HBA high bay's product page positions it as a one-for-one replacement for 400–1000 W metal halide [S9]; confirm with a layout, because the metal halide figures you are comparing against are lamp lumens that fall to mean values over life [S35], not fixture lumens.

Sources

  • [S1] OSHA, 29 CFR 1910.37(b)(1) "Each exit route must be adequately lighted so that an employee with normal vision can see along the exit route." https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/regulations/standardnumber/1910/1910.37 (fetched 2026-10-08)
  • [S2] OSHA, 29 CFR 1910.399, Definitions — "Location: Damp location … Wet location" — https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/regulations/standardnumber/1910/1910.399 (fetched 2026-10-08)
  • [S3] OSHA, 29 CFR 1910.305(j)(1)(iv) "Fixtures installed in wet or damp locations shall be identified for the purpose" — https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/regulations/standardnumber/1910/1910.305 (fetched 2026-10-08)
  • [S4] IES Standards Cross-Reference, https://ies.org/standards/ies-standards-cross-reference/ and IES store listings, read 2026-10-08 through the search-engine index of ies.org (direct access returns a bot-check page): ANSI/IES LP-2-20, Designing Quality Lighting for People in Outdoor Environments (2020); IES LP-11-20, Environmental Considerations for Outdoor Lighting. Titles only; no values or requirements quoted
  • [S5] Auvolar product page, 75W-800W Area Light / Tennis Light OT Series, spec table, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S6] Auvolar product page, 80W-300W Area / Shoebox Light OT02 Series, spec table (Type V lumen row for 80–300 W), fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S7] Auvolar product page, 75W-300W Area / Shoebox Light PLB Series, spec table, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S8] Auvolar product page, 100W-500W Area Parking Lot Light AL Series, spec table, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S9] Auvolar product page, UFO High Bay Light HBA Series, spec table and page text ("Replaces up to 1000W metal halide — one for one"), fetched 2026-10-09
  • [S10] Auvolar product page, UFO High Bay Light oH Series, spec table and page text (CRI options Ra70/80/90; optional occupancy/motion sensors), fetched 2026-10-09
  • [S11] Auvolar product page, 315W-720W LED Highbay Light INS-D Series, spec table (efficacy, CRI, CCT, beams, IP66/IK10, voltage, lifespan), fetched 2026-10-09; the page's single lumen figure is not used
  • [S12] Auvolar product page, Garage & Canopy Light IDA Series, spec table and page text ("Wet location rated", surface-mount, 0–10 V dimming, motion-sensor option), fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S13] Auvolar product page, Garage & Canopy Light IDB Series, spec table and page text (surface-mount), fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S14] Auvolar product page, Garage Canopy Light AN-CN40/60/70W, spec table and page text ("Wet location rated", CRI 80), fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S15] Auvolar product page, Garage Canopy Light A-CN 45/60/80W Series, spec table, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S16] Auvolar product page, Troffer Fixture Light AN-TF24-NV, spec table, fetched 2026-10-09
  • [S17] Auvolar product page, Tunable Panel Light A-SFPL, spec table, fetched 2026-10-09
  • [S18] Auvolar product page, Tunable Panel Light AN-BP-xxW-345K-xxDS, spec table, fetched 2026-10-09
  • [S19] Auvolar product page, Linear High Bay Light A-HBL2/4FT, spec table and page text ("replacement for T5HO and T8 fluorescent high bays"), fetched 2026-10-09; the page shows an ETL badge while its table says "Certifications UL / UL Listed: ETL listed" — the badge is used
  • [S20] Auvolar product page, Linear High Bay Light AN-LB2/4FT, spec table ("Certifications ETL, FCC") and IP65 badge, fetched 2026-10-09
  • [S21] Auvolar product page, Linear High Bay Light A-LHB-NV(HV)xK-02, spec table ("Dry/Damp location", "UL, FCC"), fetched 2026-10-09
  • [S22] Auvolar product page, Low Bay Light A-LB Series, spec table, fetched 2026-10-09
  • [S23] Auvolar product page, Wall Pack Light A-WP 60-150W, spec table and headline "Replace 250W–400W HID Wall Packs in 15 Minutes — Fits the Same J-Box", fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S24] Auvolar product page, Wall Pack Light AN-FWP100/150, spec table ("Full Cut-off"), "Wet locations", "The 150W model replaces 400W HID", fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S25] Auvolar product page, Wall Pack Light A-FWP45-60-75W, spec table, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S26] Auvolar product page, Wall Pack Light AN-FWP02-30W/60W, spec table (built-in dusk-to-dawn photocell), fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S27] Auvolar product page, Wall Pack Light TWP 40W/80W, spec table and "Wet location (silicone sealed)", fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S28] Auvolar product page, Wall Pack Light EMWP Series, spec table and "Wet location", fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S29] Auvolar product page, Adjustable Flood Light A-FL, spec table, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S30] Auvolar product page, Flood Light AN-TSFL, spec table and "Wet location", fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S31] Auvolar product page, LED Bollard Light A-B Series, spec table, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S32] Auvolar product page, LED Post Top & Area Light IP(s) Series, spec table, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S33] Auvolar product page, Photocell, spec table (120 V) and page text (100–277 V and 277–480 V versions; "if photocell fails, lights default to ON"), fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S34] Auvolar product page, Microwave Sensor A-SN09VR-MS-Z10, spec table, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S35] Sylvania product data, 64321 M400/PS/U, 400 W METALARC PULSE START metal halide: approx. lumens initial 31,000 (horizontal) / 36,000 (vertical), mean 22,400 / 25,500; warm-up 2–4 min; hot restrike 5–7 min; average rated life 15,000 h — text extracted 2026-10-08 (stage0/content-audit/data/sylvania-64321.txt)
  • [S36] Auvolar product page, LED Exit Sign Emergency Light EX05 Series, spec table ("UL 924 (Wet locations)", IP65, 2.0 W, 120/277 VAC, discharge 90 minutes), fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S37] Auvolar company facts (src/lib/company-facts.ts, ruling 2026-09-20): WARRANTY_FULL and SHIPPING_FULL wording