Application Guide

Car Wash LED Lighting: Wet-Location Fixtures for Tunnels, Bays, Vacuums and the Lot

Tunnel, self-serve bay, vacuum, equipment room and lot fixtures for car washes with published lumens and IP ratings, plus OSHA's wet-location rules.

A car wash puts luminaires in the one environment the electrical code names by example as a wet location: the wash bay itself. This page sorts the property into zones, lists the Auvolar fixture for each zone with the output and IP rating published on its product page, and explains what OSHA's wet-location rules require before an inspector signs off. If the wash is part of a fuel station, the canopy and forecourt fixtures are on the gas station canopy lighting page.

1. What the rules actually say

1.1 A wash bay is a wet location by definition

OSHA's electrical definitions, 29 CFR 1910.399, define a wet location as "Installations underground or in concrete slabs or masonry in direct contact with the earth", "locations subject to saturation with water or other liquids, such as vehicle-washing areas", and "locations unprotected and exposed to weather" [S1]. A damp location is a partially protected one: "Partially protected locations under canopies, marquees, roofed open porches, and like locations" and interior locations "subject to moderate degrees of moisture" [S1]. So the tunnel and the self-serve bays are wet locations; the vacuum canopy is at least damp and wet where spray or rain reaches it; the office is dry unless it shares the wash's air.

What follows from the classification is spelled out in 29 CFR 1910.305: "Fixtures installed in wet or damp locations shall be identified for the purpose" and installed so that "water cannot enter or accumulate in wireways, lampholders, or other electrical parts"; "Lampholders installed in wet or damp locations shall be of the weatherproof type"; enclosures, boxes and fittings in damp or wet locations must be installed "so as to prevent moisture or water from entering and accumulating within the enclosures" with a 6.35 mm (0.25 in.) airspace from the wall; and switches, circuit breakers and switchboards in wet locations "shall be enclosed in weatherproof enclosures" [S2]. The NEC uses the same location classes; your electrician and the AHJ apply the edition your jurisdiction has adopted.

1.2 IP ratings: what the second digit means in a wash bay

Auvolar fixtures publish an IP rating alongside the UL or ETL listing. The IP code is defined by IEC 60529, adopted in the United States as ANSI/IEC 60529-2020 [S4]. The first digit is the dust rating and the second the water rating: "IP6X Dust-tight", "IPX5 Water jets", "IPX6 Powerful water jets", so "a luminaire or lighting component with a rating of IP66 is dust-tight and protected against powerful water jets" [S3]. The standard tests the second numeral 5 "with the 6,3 mm nozzle" and numeral 6 "with the 12,5 mm nozzle" [S4].

Read the ratings on this page literally. Auvolar's two vapor-tight fixtures publish IP65 [S5][S6], and the pole-mounted area lights for the lot publish IP66 [S11][S12]. Whether IP65 is enough for a given bay depends on where the fixture sits relative to the high-pressure arches and wands; mounting the fixture out of the direct line of the wands, and choosing IP66 where it is in the line, is a decision for the layout, not a slogan.

1.3 Light levels

No federal rule sets a foot-candle level for a wash bay. Targets come from the operator's brand standard, the equipment supplier's recommendations and, for the lot, the IES's outdoor-lighting practice (ANSI/IES LP-2-20, Designing Quality Lighting for People in Outdoor Environments) [S7]. Rather than quote a number here, run the tunnel or the bays in LightSpec AI with the exact model and agree the target with the operator.

2. The zones of a car wash

ZoneEnvironment (per the definitions above)Fixture familySection
Tunnel and in-bay automaticWet location; direct spray and chemical fogVapor-tight linear fixtures3
Self-serve baysWet location; wand spray from any angleVapor-tight linear fixtures3
Vacuum and detail canopiesDamp, wet at the edgesCanopy lights4
Equipment roomDamp or wet depending on wash-down practiceVapor-tight or damp-rated linear5
Pay stations and entry/exit canopiesDamp, wet at the edgesCanopy lights, wall packs4, 6
Lot, queue lanes and perimeterWet (outdoors)Area lights, wall packs, floods6
Exits and emergencyAs the zone it is inWet-location exit signs and emergency wall packs7

3. Tunnel and bay fixtures: vapor tights

Both Auvolar vapor-tight fixtures are listed in the vapor tights category. The published specifications:

FixturePublished output and ratingsConstruction as published
Tunable Vapor Tight AN-VT8FT — 8 ft, 45 / 60 / 70 / 80 W field-selectable5,850 / 7,800 / 9,100 / 10,040 lm; 130 lm/W (126 lm/W at 80 W); IP65; 120–277 VAC; CRI 80; CCT 3500 / 4000 / 5000 K adjustable; 50,000 h; ETL Listed; 5-year warranty [S5]"Durable plastic, frosted polycarbonate lens"; "stainless steel clips (toolless entry)"; page text describes sealing "against water jets, dust, and chemical exposure" [S5]
Vapor Tight Strip AN-VF4FT — 4 ft, 40 W5,200 lm; 130 lm/W; IP65; IK08; 100–277 V; 5000 K; CRI 80; power factor 0.9; ETL Listed; 5-year warranty [S6]Modular surface mount; page text describes an optional microwave motion sensor [S6]

How to use them:

  • Tunnel. Run the 8 ft AN-VT8FT along both walls of the tunnel, selecting the wattage per section: higher output at the entrance and the finish/dry-off end where customers look at the car, lower in the mid-tunnel arches. The CCT selector lets the whole tunnel be set to one colour temperature on site [S5].
  • Self-serve bays. The 4 ft AN-VF4FT suits the shorter bay ceiling; its IK08 impact rating [S6] matters where wands and brushes swing near the fixture. Mount fixtures so the wand cannot be aimed directly at a lens from close range; IP65 is a water-jet rating, not a pressure-washer rating [S3][S4].
  • Chemicals. The AN-VT8FT page states the fixture is sealed against "chemical exposure" [S5]. That is the manufacturer's statement; if your pre-soak or wheel cleaner is unusual, ask Auvolar for the lens-material compatibility before you buy.

For the general difference between vapor-tight and open strip fixtures, see vapor tight vs strip light: IP rating.

4. Vacuum, detail and entry canopies

Canopies over the vacuum stations, the pay stations and the tunnel entrance and exit are lit with the same canopy luminaires used on fuel canopies; all are in the garage and canopy lights category.

FixturePublished output and ratingsLocation rating as published
Garage & Canopy Light IDA Series — 40 / 60 W5,200 / 7,800 lm; 130 lm/W; IP65; 100–277 V; 130°; UL Listed; FCC [S8]"Wet location rated"; 0–10 V dimming; integrated motion-sensor option on the page [S8]
Garage & Canopy Light IDB Series — 40 / 60 W5,200 / 7,800 lm; 130 lm/W; IP65; 100–277 V; 130°; UL Listed; FCC [S9]not stated on the product page
Garage Canopy Light AN-CN — 40 / 60 / 70 W selectable4,800 / 7,200 / 8,400 lm; 120 lm/W; Type V, 155°; 120–277 VAC; ETL Listed [S10]"Wet location rated" [S10]
Garage Canopy Light A-CN Series — 45 / 60 / 80 W selectable5,400 / 7,200 / 9,600 lm; 120 lm/W; Type V, 150°; CRI 80; 120–277 V; UL Listed [S20]IP65 appears in the page text but not in the spec table; location rating not stated

Detail bays are where colour rendering is noticed: a customer checking the upholstery wants the stains to show. The published CRI is 80 on the AN-VT8FT, AN-VF4FT, A-CN and AN-CN pages [S5][S6][S20][S10]; the IDA and IDB pages do not state a CRI, so ask for the spec sheet if the detail bay is the priority.

5. Equipment room and office

The equipment room holds the pumps, the chemical dosing and the reclaim tank. Whether it is damp or wet depends on how it is cleaned. Two Auvolar linear fixtures are published for damp locations only and belong in the office, the break room or an equipment room that is never hosed down:

  • Strip Light A-LSxFT — 4 ft or 8 ft, 25–90 W selectable, 3,250–11,700 lm, 130 lm/W, 120–277 V, UL listed for damp locations; the product page states it replaces two 32 W T8 fluorescent tubes [S13].
  • LED Wraparound A-WR4FT — 15 / 25 / 30 / 40 W selectable, 1,875–5,000 lm, 125 lm/W, 120–277 V, 8 W emergency backup, damp location [S14].

If the equipment room is washed down, use the vapor tights from section 3 instead; a damp-rated fixture in a wet location is exactly what 1910.305(j)(1)(iv) rules out [S2].

6. Lot, queue lanes, pay stations and the building

Everything outdoors is a wet location [S1], so every fixture here publishes an IP rating. Area lights are in the area lights category, wall packs in wall packs and floods in flood lights.

FixturePublished output and ratingsWhere it fits
Area / Shoebox Light PLB Series — 75–300 W12,000–45,000 lm; up to 160 lm/W; Type III / IV / V; IP66 / IK10; polycarbonate lens; CCT selectable; built-in and external photocell receptacle; 100–277 V or 277–480 V; UL Listed [S11]Queue lanes and the lot, pole-mounted; IP66 where the lot is pressure-washed
Area Light OT Series — 75–800 Wup to 109,600 lm; up to 172 lm/W; Type III / IV / V; IP66 / IK10; 100–277 V or 277–480 V; L90B10 > 100,000 h at 25 °C; UL Listed; FCC [S12]Larger lots and tall poles
Wall Pack A-WP 60–150 W9,000–22,500 lm; 150 lm/W; Type IV, rotatable 90°; IP65; 120–277 V AC; integrated photocell and 0–10 V dimming; UL Listed [S15]Building face toward the queue; the page states it replaces 250–400 W HID wall packs [S15]
Wall Pack AN-FWP 100 / 150 W13,000 / 19,500 lm; 130 lm/W; full cut-off; 120–277 V; published as wet locations; UL Listed [S16]Full cut-off version next to a residential neighbour
Wall Pack AN-FWP02 30 / 60 W3,900 / 7,800 lm; 130 lm/W; 110°; IP65; 120–277 V; built-in dusk-to-dawn photocell; ETL Listed [S17]Doors, rear wall, vacuum-station posts
Wall Pack TWP 40 / 80 W5,000 / 10,000 lm; 125 lm/W; 65 × 95°; "Wet location (silicone sealed)"; UL Listed [S18]Traditional wall-pack form
Adjustable Flood Light A-FL — 60–150 W selectable8,400–21,000 lm; 140 lm/W; adjustable beam; IP65; 120–277 V; 0–10 V dimming; UL Listed [S19]Signage and the entrance from a pole or the roof edge

7. Exits and emergency lighting in a wet building

Exit signs and emergency lights inside the wash are in the same wet location as the fixtures around them:

  • LED Exit Sign Emergency Light EX05 Series is published as "UL 924 (Wet locations)" with an IP65 housing, 2.0 W, 120 / 277 VAC 60 Hz, a 90-minute battery discharge, 24-hour recharge, wall, end or ceiling mounting and an operating range of 0 °C to 40 °C [S21]. The product page names car washes among its applications [S21].
  • Wall Pack EMWP Series is an 8 / 15 / 25 W wall pack with an integrated emergency battery, photocell on/off and a published wet-location rating [S22], for the exterior exit doors.

Which doors need signs and how long the emergency lighting must last is covered in the emergency lighting code requirements guide.

8. Controls

  • Dusk-to-dawn. The photocell is a twist-lock control; the page lists normal-voltage (100–277 V) and high-voltage (277–480 V) versions and states that if the photocell fails the lights default to ON [S23]. The PLB area light carries a photocell receptacle [S11] and the A-WP and AN-FWP02 wall packs have the photocell integrated [S15][S17].
  • Occupancy in self-serve bays and vacuum stations. The AN-VF4FT page offers an optional microwave motion sensor [S6], the IDA page an integrated motion-sensor option [S8], and the microwave sensor A-SN09VR-MS-Z10 fits fixtures with a Z10 base, detecting at 15 m / 49 ft with daylight harvesting and 0–10 V output [S24]. Check the sensor base of the fixture before specifying; see occupancy sensors.
  • Dimming. 0–10 V dimming is published on the IDA, A-FL and A-WP [S8][S19][S15]; the vapor-tight pages publish wattage and CCT selection rather than 0–10 V dimming [S5][S6].

9. Replacing fluorescent and HID fixtures in a wash

Washes that are being upgraded often still have fluorescent strips in the tunnel and metal halide under the canopies. Two cautions:

  • The A-LSxFT strip's statement that it replaces two 32 W T8 tubes is the manufacturer's claim for a damp-location fixture [S13]; in a wet bay the replacement has to be a vapor tight (section 3), and the fixture count comes from the layout, not from the old count.
  • For canopy metal halide, the published data for a representative 400 W pulse-start lamp (Sylvania 64321, M400/PS/U) shows initial output of 31,000 lm horizontal or 36,000 lm vertical, mean output of 22,400 / 25,500 lm, a 2–4 minute warm-up, a 5–7 minute hot restrike and a 15,000-hour rated life [S25]. Those are lamp lumens, not fixture lumens; compare delivered light with a photometric layout before deciding how many canopy lights replace each MH fixture.

10. How to specify and order

  • Send the tunnel section, bay dimensions and lot plan to LightSpec AI, or upload your existing fixture schedule through BOM upload. The layout returns fixture positions and light levels per zone so you can set the target with the operator.
  • Mark each zone wet or damp with your electrician using the definitions in section 1 [S1], and specify fixtures published for that location.
  • Auvolar fixtures carry a 5-year standard manufacturer warranty, up to 10 years on select premium fixtures; in-stock items ship within 24 hours from the City of Industry, CA warehouse, and anything not in stock is confirmed with you before the order is placed [S26].

Frequently asked questions

Are car wash bays a wet location?

Yes. OSHA's definition of a wet location includes "locations subject to saturation with water or other liquids, such as vehicle-washing areas" [S1]. Fixtures installed there "shall be identified for the purpose" [S2].

Do I need IP66 fixtures for a car wash?

It depends on where the fixture sits. IP65 means water jets (tested with a 6.3 mm nozzle) and IP66 powerful water jets (12.5 mm nozzle) [S3][S4]. Auvolar's vapor tights publish IP65 [S5][S6]; the PLB and OT area lights for the lot publish IP66 [S11][S12]. Keep IP65 fixtures out of the direct line of the wands and arches, and choose IP66 where that is not possible.

What is the best LED light for a self-serve car wash bay?

A vapor-tight linear fixture published for wet locations. Auvolar's 4 ft AN-VF4FT publishes 5,200 lm, IP65 and IK08 [S6]; the 8 ft AN-VT8FT publishes 5,850–10,040 lm, IP65 and field-selectable wattage and CCT [S5]. The number per bay comes from the layout.

Can a strip light or wraparound be used in the wash bay?

Not if it is only rated for damp locations. The A-LSxFT and A-WR4FT pages publish damp-location ratings [S13][S14], which covers the office and a dry equipment room, not a bay that is hosed down [S2].

Do exit signs in the wash need a special rating?

They need to suit the location like any other fixture [S2]. The EX05 exit sign is published as UL 924 listed for wet locations with an IP65 housing [S21].

Sources

  • [S1] OSHA, 29 CFR 1910.399, Definitions — "Location: Damp location … Dry location … Wet location; Weatherproof" — https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/regulations/standardnumber/1910/1910.399 (fetched 2026-10-08)
  • [S2] OSHA, 29 CFR 1910.305(e)(1)–(2) and (j)(1)(iii)–(iv) — https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/regulations/standardnumber/1910/1910.305 (fetched 2026-10-08)
  • [S3] UL, "IK & IP Testing for Lighting Products" (PDF, 2018): "IP6X Dust-tight", "IPX5 Water jets", "IPX6 Powerful water jets"; "A luminaire or lighting component with a rating of IP66 is dust-tight and protected against powerful water jets as described in IEC 60598-1 (IEC 60529)" — https://code-authorities.ul.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/2/2018/06/IK-and-IP-Testing-for-Lighting-Products.pdf (downloaded and text-extracted 2026-10-08)
  • [S4] ANSI/IEC 60529-2020, Degrees of Protection Provided by Enclosures (IP Code), NEMA identical national adoption (contents and scope PDF): 14.2.5 "Test for second characteristic numeral 5 with the 6,3 mm nozzle"; 14.2.6 "Test for second characteristic numeral 6 with the 12,5 mm nozzle"; 13.4 "Dust test for first characteristic numerals 5 and 6" — https://www.nema.org/docs/default-source/about-us-document-library/ansi-iec_60529-2020-contents-and-scopef0908377-f8db-4395-8aaa-97331d276fef.pdf (downloaded and text-extracted 2026-10-08)
  • [S5] Auvolar product page, Tunable Vapor Tight AN-VT8FT 45/60/70/80W, spec table and page text, fetched 2026-10-08 (page carries P1 template copy — not linked; category link used)
  • [S6] Auvolar product page, Vapor Tight Strip AN-VF4FT 40W, spec table and page text, fetched 2026-10-08 (P1 — not linked; category link used)
  • [S7] IES Standards Cross-Reference, https://ies.org/standards/ies-standards-cross-reference/ and IES store listing, read 2026-10-08 through the search-engine index of ies.org (direct access returns a bot-check page): ANSI/IES LP-2-20, Designing Quality Lighting for People in Outdoor Environments (2020). Title only; no values or requirements quoted
  • [S8] Auvolar product page, Garage & Canopy Light IDA Series, spec table and page text, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S9] Auvolar product page, Garage & Canopy Light IDB Series, spec table, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S10] Auvolar product page, Garage Canopy Light AN-CN40/60/70W, spec table and "Wet location rated", fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S11] Auvolar product page, 75W-300W Area / Shoebox Light PLB Series, spec table, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S12] Auvolar product page, 75W-800W Area Light / Tennis Light OT Series, spec table, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S13] Auvolar product page, Strip Light A-LSxFT, spec table and page text ("UL listed for damp locations", "replaces two 32W T8 fluorescent tubes"), fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S14] Auvolar product page, LED Wraparound A-WR4FT, spec table and "Damp location", fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S15] Auvolar product page, Wall Pack Light A-WP 60-150W, spec table and "Replace 250W–400W HID Wall Packs", fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S16] Auvolar product page, Wall Pack Light AN-FWP100/150, spec table ("Full Cut-off"), "Wet locations", fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S17] Auvolar product page, Wall Pack Light AN-FWP02-30W/60W, spec table, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S18] Auvolar product page, Wall Pack Light TWP 40W/80W, spec table and "Wet location (silicone sealed)", fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S19] Auvolar product page, Adjustable Flood Light A-FL, spec table, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S20] Auvolar product page, Garage Canopy Light A-CN 45/60/80W Series, spec table, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S21] Auvolar product page, LED Exit Sign Emergency Light EX05 Series, spec table and page text ("IP65 Wet Location Exit Sign — For Car Washes, Pool Areas, and Loading Docks"), fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S22] Auvolar product page, Wall Pack Light EMWP Series, spec table and "Wet location", fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S23] Auvolar product page, Photocell, spec table (120 V) and page text (100–277 V and 277–480 V versions; "if photocell fails, lights default to ON"), fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S24] Auvolar product page, Microwave Sensor A-SN09VR-MS-Z10, spec table, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S25] Sylvania product data, 64321 M400/PS/U, 400 W METALARC PULSE START metal halide — text extracted 2026-10-08 (stage0/content-audit/data/sylvania-64321.txt)
  • [S26] Auvolar company facts (src/lib/company-facts.ts, ruling 2026-09-20): WARRANTY_FULL and SHIPPING_FULL wording