Application Guide

LED Gas Station Canopy Lighting: Fixtures by Zone, Hazardous-Area Rules and Controls

Fuel station canopy, forecourt and perimeter LED fixtures with published lumens, what OSHA and NEC 514 mean for canopy lights, plus dusk-to-dawn control.

A fuel station is lit in four zones: the canopy over the pump islands, the forecourt and drive lanes around it, the convenience store walls and entries, and the lot and perimeter. Each zone takes a different fixture. This page lists what Auvolar sells for each zone with the output published on every product page, explains what OSHA's electrical standards and NEC Article 514 mean for canopy luminaires, and shows how to confirm the layout before you buy. If the site has a wash bay, the fixtures for that part of the property are on the car wash lighting page.

1. What the rules actually say

1.1 The classified area around the dispensers

Fuel dispensing is one of the textbook cases of a hazardous (classified) location. OSHA's general industry electrical standard, 29 CFR 1910.307, covers "electric equipment and wiring in locations that are classified" and lists "gasoline dispensing and service stations" among its examples; it also says "Each room, section or area shall be considered individually in determining its classification" [S1]. Equipment installed inside a classified area "shall be approved not only for the class of location" but also for the specific vapor present, and it must be "marked to show the class, group, and operating temperature or temperature range" [S1]. Since 2007 the classification itself must be documented and that documentation "shall be available to those authorized to design, install, inspect, maintain" and operate the equipment [S1].

How far the classified area extends is defined by NEC Article 514 (Motor Fuel Dispensing Facilities), Table 514.3(B)(1), and the result for your site is the documented classification that 29 CFR 1910.307(b) requires [S1]. A canopy luminaire mounted at the canopy soffit is normally outside that classified area, which is why canopy lights are usually ordinary-location luminaires rather than explosion-proof fixtures. The classification drawing for your site, not this page, is what the inspector will check: ask the electrical engineer for it before specifying anything at or near grade, and apply the NEC edition your jurisdiction has adopted.

1.2 Wet or damp: what the underside of a canopy counts as

OSHA defines the location types that luminaire listings refer to. A damp location includes "Partially protected locations under canopies, marquees, roofed open porches, and like locations"; a wet location includes "locations unprotected and exposed to weather" and "locations subject to saturation with water or other liquids, such as vehicle-washing areas" [S2]. Fixtures "installed in wet or damp locations shall be identified for the purpose" and installed so that water cannot enter or accumulate in wireways, lampholders or other electrical parts; lampholders in those locations "shall be of the weatherproof type" [S3].

So the underside of a fuel canopy is at least a damp location, and the fixtures along the canopy edge take wind-driven rain. The practical rule is to specify canopy luminaires that the manufacturer publishes as wet-location rated, and to check the published rating rather than assume it. The table in section 2 shows what each Auvolar canopy model's product page states.

1.3 IP ratings in one paragraph

Auvolar outdoor fixtures carry an IP rating alongside the UL or ETL listing. The IP code is defined by IEC 60529, adopted in the United States as ANSI/IEC 60529-2020 [S5]. The first digit is the solid-object and dust rating, the second the water rating: "IP6X Dust-tight", "IPX5 Water jets", "IPX6 Powerful water jets", so "a luminaire or lighting component with a rating of IP66 is dust-tight and protected against powerful water jets" [S4]. The standard tests the second numeral 5 "with the 6,3 mm nozzle" and the second numeral 6 "with the 12,5 mm nozzle" [S5]. For a canopy, IP65 covers rain and hose-down; IP66 is the rating to look for on pole-mounted area lights that get pressure-washed with the lot.

1.4 Light levels and local ordinances

No federal rule sets a foot-candle level for a fuel canopy. Design targets come from the IES's outdoor-lighting practices — ANSI/IES LP-2-20, Designing Quality Lighting for People in Outdoor Environments, and IES LP-11-20, Environmental Considerations for Outdoor Lighting [S6] — from the brand standards of the fuel retailer, and from local zoning. Many cities regulate how bright a canopy may be and whether fixtures must be full cut-off; check the zoning ordinance before you fix the fixture count. Rather than quote a single target here, run your canopy in LightSpec AI, which calculates the layout from the fixtures' IES files, and set the target with the retailer and the AHJ.

2. Zone A — Canopy and pump islands

The canopy is the fixture count that drives the project. Four Auvolar models are made for canopy and parking-structure ceilings; all four are in the garage and canopy lights category.

FixturePublished output and ratingsLocation rating as publishedNotes
Garage & Canopy Light IDA Series — 40 W or 60 W5,200 / 7,800 lm; 130 lm/W; IP65; 100–277 V; 130° distribution; UL Listed; FCC [S7]"Wet location rated" [S7]Product page describes a surface-mount housing and 0–10 V dimming; integrated motion-sensor option mentioned on the page
Garage & Canopy Light IDB Series — 40 W or 60 W5,200 / 7,800 lm; 130 lm/W; IP65; 100–277 V; 130° distribution; UL Listed; FCC [S8]not stated on the product pageProduct page describes a surface-mount housing; same output as IDA; ask for the spec sheet if a wet-location marking is required
Garage Canopy Light A-CN Series — 45 / 60 / 80 W selectable5,400 / 7,200 / 9,600 lm; 120 lm/W; Type V, 150° beam; CRI 80; 120–277 V; UL Listed [S9]IP65 appears in the page text but not in the spec table; location rating not statedOne fixture covers three wattages, so the same model can serve the edge rows and the centre rows
Garage Canopy Light AN-CN — 40 / 60 / 70 W selectable4,800 / 7,200 / 8,400 lm; 120 lm/W; Type V, 155° beam; 120–277 VAC; ETL Listed [S10]"Wet location rated" [S10]Three wattages in one SKU; ETL rather than UL listing

Three things to settle before ordering canopy lights:

  • Recessed or surface mount. A new canopy deck is usually cut for recessed fixtures; a retrofit on an existing deck is usually surface mount. The IDA and IDB pages describe surface-mount housings [S7][S8]; confirm the mounting kit for the A-CN and AN-CN with sales before you cut openings.
  • Edge rows. The outermost rows see the weather and the drivers' eyes from the street. Use the wet-location-rated models (IDA, AN-CN) there and keep the beam angle in mind: 150–155° Type V optics on A-CN and AN-CN spread light widely, which helps uniformity but increases spill at the canopy edge.
  • Voltage. IDA and IDB accept 100–277 V and A-CN and AN-CN 120–277 V [S7][S8][S9][S10]. If the canopy circuit is 480 V, use a transformer or choose from the area-light range, which includes 277–480 V models.

3. Zone B — Forecourt, drive lanes and the lot

The approaches, the air and water island and the parking stalls are lit from poles or from the building face. These fixtures are outdoors in the open, which is a wet location by definition [S2], so every model below is published with an IP rating.

FixturePublished output and ratingsWhere it fits
Area / Shoebox Light PLB Series — 75–300 W12,000–45,000 lm; up to 160 lm/W; Type III / IV / V; IP66 / IK10; polycarbonate lens; CCT selectable 3000 / 4000 / 5000 K; built-in and external photocell receptacle; surge 10 / 20 kV optional; 100–277 V or 277–480 V; –40 °C to +50 °C; UL Listed [S11]Pole-mounted lot and drive-lane light with a photocell receptacle on board
Area Light OT Series — 75–800 Wup to 109,600 lm; up to 172 lm/W; Type III / IV / V; IP66 / IK10; 100–277 V or 277–480 V; surge 10 / 20 kV optional; –40 °C to 50 °C; 3G vibration rating; L90B10 > 100,000 h at 25 °C; UL Listed; FCC [S12]Large lots and truck lanes on tall poles; seven bracket types (slip fitter, arm, yoke, pole, trunnion)
Area / Shoebox Light OT02 Series — 80–300 WType V: 15,406 / 25,505 / 37,925 / 53,209 lm at 80 / 140 / 200 / 300 W; Type III / IV / V; IP65 / IK09; polycarbonate lens; die-cast aluminium housing; 100–277 V or 200–480 V; L70 100,000 h [S13]Mid-size lots where IP65 is sufficient
Area Parking Lot Light AL Series — 150 / 300 / 500 Wup to 72,500 lm; 145 lm/W; Type III / V; CCT selectable 3000 / 4000 / 5000 K; CRI > 80; IP65; surge 10 kV; 120–277 VAC; –40 °C to 50 °C; UL Listed [S14]Lots that need the highest output per pole at 277 V
Adjustable Flood Light A-FL — 60 / 80 / 100 W or 80 / 100 / 150 W selectable8,400 / 11,200 / 14,000 / 21,000 lm; 140 lm/W; adjustable beam; IP65; 120–277 V; 0–10 V dimming; slip-fitter or trunnion mount; UL Listed [S15]Aiming light at the price sign, the air island or a dark corner from a wall or pole
Flood Light AN-TSFL — 30 / 50 / 70 W3,600 / 6,000 / 8,400 lm; 120 lm/W; 120° beam; CRI 70; IP65; UL Listed; published as wet location [S16]Small floods for signage and dumpster enclosures

All area lights above are in the area lights category and the floods in flood lights. A note on cut-off: the AN-FWP100/150 spec table lists its optic as full cut-off [S18], and the other wall-pack pages mention full-cutoff optics in their descriptive text; if your ordinance requires a specific BUG rating, ask for the photometric report of the exact model rather than relying on page copy.

4. Zone C — Convenience store walls, entries and the price sign

Wall packs on the store face light the walkway, the entry and the ice merchandiser without poles. All models below are in the wall packs category.

FixturePublished output and ratingsWhere it fits
Wall Pack A-WP 60–150 W — 60 / 90 / 100 / 120 W or 80 / 100 / 120 / 150 W selectable9,000–22,500 lm; 150 lm/W; Type IV distribution, rotatable 90°; IP65; 120–277 V AC; integrated photocell and 0–10 V dimming; UL Listed [S17]High-output forward-throw pack for the store face; the product page says it replaces 250–400 W HID wall packs on the same junction box [S17]
Wall Pack AN-FWP 100 / 150 W13,000 / 19,500 lm; 130 lm/W; full cut-off; 120–277 V; surge 10 kV optional; published as wet locations; UL Listed [S18]Full cut-off version where light must not spill toward the street or a neighbour; the page states the 150 W model replaces 400 W HID [S18]
Wall Pack A-FWP 45 / 60 / 75 W5,850 / 7,800 / 9,750 lm; 130 lm/W; 110° beam; CRI 70; 120–277 V; photocell option; ETL Listed [S19]Medium pack for side walls; the page states it replaces a 100 W HID wall pack [S19]
Wall Pack AN-FWP02 30 / 60 W3,900 / 7,800 lm; 130 lm/W; 110° beam, Type V; CRI 70; IP65; 120–277 V; built-in dusk-to-dawn photocell; ETL Listed [S20]Small pack for doors and rear walls; the page states 30 W replaces 70 W HID and 60 W replaces 150 W HID [S20]
Wall Pack TWP 40 / 80 W5,000 / 10,000 lm; 125 lm/W; 65 × 95° beam; CCT 3000 / 4000 / 5000 K; published as "Wet location (silicone sealed)"; UL Listed [S21]Traditional wall-pack form; the page states it replaces a 175 W metal halide pack [S21]
Wall Pack EMWP Series — 8 / 15 / 25 W selectable1,120 / 2,100 / 3,500 lm; integrated emergency battery backup; photocell on/off; published as wet location; –40 °C to 50 °C; 120–277 V; UL Listed [S22]Exterior exit doors of the store, where the exit discharge must stay lit on a power failure

For the price sign and the canopy fascia, aim an A-FL or AN-TSFL flood from the ground or the canopy edge; the adjustable beam on the A-FL lets you narrow the throw to the sign face [S15].

5. Controls: dusk-to-dawn, dimming and sensors

Fuel station lighting runs every night of the year, so the control question is usually "how do I make sure it is on when it should be, and dimmed when nobody is there":

  • Photocell. Auvolar's photocell is a twist-lock dusk-to-dawn control; the product page lists normal-voltage (100–277 V) and high-voltage (277–480 V) versions and notes that if the photocell fails the lights default to ON [S23]. The spec table on the same page lists 120 V, so confirm the voltage variant when ordering. The PLB area light has a built-in and an external photocell receptacle [S11], and the A-WP and AN-FWP02 wall packs have the photocell integrated [S17][S20].
  • 0–10 V dimming. The IDA canopy light, the A-FL flood and the A-WP wall pack publish 0–10 V dimming [S7][S15][S17], which lets a lighting controller drop the canopy to a lower level in the small hours and bring it back when a vehicle is detected.
  • Occupancy on fixtures with a Z10 base. The microwave sensor A-SN09VR-MS-Z10 fits a Z10 sensor base, detects at 15 m / 49 ft and provides daylight harvesting, photocell on/off and 0–10 V dimming [S24]. Check that the fixture you choose has the Z10 base before adding it; the occupancy sensors category lists the PIR and microwave options.

6. Replacing metal halide canopy lights

Canopies that are being upgraded usually still carry metal halide fixtures. The published data for a representative 400 W pulse-start lamp (Sylvania 64321, M400/PS/U) shows why the switch is made: initial output 31,000 lm horizontal or 36,000 lm vertical, mean output 22,400 lm or 25,500 lm, a 2–4 minute warm-up, a 5–7 minute hot restrike and a 15,000-hour rated life [S25]. The hot restrike is the figure that matters at a fuel station: after a power blip, the forecourt stays dark for several minutes while the lamps cool enough to re-strike. LED canopy lights have no arc tube to cool, so they are back at full output the moment power returns.

Two cautions when you convert the numbers:

  • Lamp lumens are not fixture lumens. The 31,000–36,000 lm above is the bare lamp; the light that reaches the pump island depends on the old fixture's optics and the lamp's depreciation. Compare delivered light on the island with a photometric layout, not lamp lumens against the LED's published fixture lumens. Auvolar's canopy models publish 4,800–9,600 lm per fixture [S7]–[S10], so a one-for-one swap of a 400 W MH fixture is not automatic; the layout decides.
  • Attributed replacement claims. The wall-pack product pages state their own HID-replacement equivalents (A-WP: 250–400 W HID; AN-FWP 150 W: 400 W HID; A-FWP: 100 W HID; AN-FWP02: 70 W and 150 W HID; TWP: 175 W MH) [S17]–[S21]. Those are the manufacturer's statements for the wall packs, not measurements for your canopy.

7. Exits, the wash bay and the rest of the site

  • Exit signs at exterior doors. The EX05 exit sign is published as UL 924 listed for wet locations with an IP65 housing, 2.0 W, 120 / 277 VAC, a 90-minute battery and wall, end or ceiling mounting [S26]. What the code requires of exit and emergency lighting is covered in the emergency lighting code requirements guide.
  • Car wash. Wash bays are wet locations by OSHA's definition ("vehicle-washing areas") [S2]; the fixtures for them are on the car wash lighting page.
  • Store interior. The sales floor, coolers and back room are covered by the indoor categories; ask for a layout if you want them in the same project.

8. How to specify and order

  • Send the canopy drawing (pole and island layout for the lot) to LightSpec AI or upload your existing fixture schedule through BOM upload. The layout returns fixture positions and the light level on the island so you can agree the target with the retailer and the AHJ before buying.
  • Confirm the classification drawing for anything near grade (section 1.1) and the wet-location requirement for canopy-edge fixtures (section 1.2).
  • Auvolar fixtures carry a 5-year standard manufacturer warranty, up to 10 years on select premium fixtures; in-stock items ship within 24 hours from the City of Industry, CA warehouse, and anything not in stock is confirmed with you before the order is placed [S27].

Frequently asked questions

Do gas station canopy lights have to be explosion-proof?

Usually not. Equipment inside a classified area must be approved and marked for it [S1], and the area around each dispenser is drawn under NEC Article 514, Table 514.3(B)(1) in the site's documented classification (29 CFR 1910.307(b)) [S1]. A canopy luminaire at the soffit is normally outside that area; the classification drawing and the AHJ make the final call.

Is the underside of a canopy a wet or a damp location?

OSHA's definition lists "Partially protected locations under canopies" as damp and "locations unprotected and exposed to weather" as wet [S2]. Fixtures must be identified for whichever applies [S3]. Edge fixtures see wind-driven rain, so wet-location-rated canopy lights are the safe specification.

What is the difference between IP65 and IP66?

Both are dust-tight (first digit 6). The second digit is the water test: 5 is water jets, 6 is powerful water jets [S4]; the standard tests them with a 6.3 mm and a 12.5 mm nozzle respectively [S5]. IP65 suits a canopy; IP66 is published on the PLB and OT area lights for lots that get pressure-washed [S11][S12].

How many canopy lights does my station need?

It depends on the canopy size, mounting height, the fixture's optics and the light level you agree with the retailer and the city. Run the layout in LightSpec AI with the exact model; the output per fixture is 4,800–9,600 lm depending on the model and wattage [S7]–[S10].

Can the canopy dim at night?

Yes, if you choose fixtures with 0–10 V dimming (IDA canopy light, A-FL flood, A-WP wall pack publish it [S7][S15][S17]) and add a controller or a Z10-base sensor where the fixture supports it [S24]. Dusk-to-dawn switching alone needs only a photocell [S23].

Sources

  • [S1] OSHA, 29 CFR 1910.307(a)(1), (b), (c)(2)(i)–(ii), Hazardous (classified) locations — https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/regulations/standardnumber/1910/1910.307 (fetched 2026-10-08)
  • [S2] OSHA, 29 CFR 1910.399, Definitions — "Location: Damp location … Wet location … Weatherproof" — https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/regulations/standardnumber/1910/1910.399 (fetched 2026-10-08)
  • [S3] OSHA, 29 CFR 1910.305(e)(1)–(2) and (j)(1)(iii)–(iv) — https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/regulations/standardnumber/1910/1910.305 (fetched 2026-10-08)
  • [S4] UL, "IK & IP Testing for Lighting Products" (PDF, 2018): "IP6X Dust-tight", "IPX5 Water jets", "IPX6 Powerful water jets"; "A luminaire or lighting component with a rating of IP66 is dust-tight and protected against powerful water jets as described in IEC 60598-1 (IEC 60529)" — https://code-authorities.ul.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/2/2018/06/IK-and-IP-Testing-for-Lighting-Products.pdf (downloaded and text-extracted 2026-10-08)
  • [S5] ANSI/IEC 60529-2020, Degrees of Protection Provided by Enclosures (IP Code), identical national adoption published by NEMA (contents and scope PDF): clause 14.2.5 "Test for second characteristic numeral 5 with the 6,3 mm nozzle", 14.2.6 "Test for second characteristic numeral 6 with the 12,5 mm nozzle", 13.4 "Dust test for first characteristic numerals 5 and 6" — https://www.nema.org/docs/default-source/about-us-document-library/ansi-iec_60529-2020-contents-and-scopef0908377-f8db-4395-8aaa-97331d276fef.pdf (downloaded and text-extracted 2026-10-08)
  • [S6] IES Standards Cross-Reference, https://ies.org/standards/ies-standards-cross-reference/ and IES store listings, read 2026-10-08 through the search-engine index of ies.org (direct access returns a bot-check page): ANSI/IES LP-2-20, Designing Quality Lighting for People in Outdoor Environments (2020); IES LP-11-20, Environmental Considerations for Outdoor Lighting. Titles only; no values or requirements quoted
  • [S7] Auvolar product page, Garage & Canopy Light IDA Series, spec table and page text ("Wet location rated", surface-mount, 0–10 V dimming, motion-sensor option), fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S8] Auvolar product page, Garage & Canopy Light IDB Series, spec table, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S9] Auvolar product page, Garage Canopy Light A-CN 45/60/80W Series, spec table, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S10] Auvolar product page, Garage Canopy Light AN-CN40/60/70W, spec table and page text ("Wet location rated"), fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S11] Auvolar product page, 75W-300W Area / Shoebox Light PLB Series, spec table, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S12] Auvolar product page, 75W-800W Area Light / Tennis Light OT Series, spec table, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S13] Auvolar product page, 80W-300W Area / Shoebox Light OT02 Series, spec table (Type V lumen row for 80–300 W), fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S14] Auvolar product page, 100W-500W Area Parking Lot Light AL Series, spec table, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S15] Auvolar product page, Adjustable Flood Light A-FL, spec table, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S16] Auvolar product page, Flood Light AN-TSFL, spec table and "Wet location" wording, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S17] Auvolar product page, Wall Pack Light A-WP 60-150W, spec table and headline "Replace 250W–400W HID Wall Packs in 15 Minutes — Fits the Same J-Box", integrated photocell + 0–10 V, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S18] Auvolar product page, Wall Pack Light AN-FWP100/150, spec table ("Full Cut-off"), "Wet locations", "The 150W model replaces 400W HID", fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S19] Auvolar product page, Wall Pack Light A-FWP45-60-75W, spec table and "replace a 100W HID wall pack", fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S20] Auvolar product page, Wall Pack Light AN-FWP02-30W/60W, spec table (built-in dusk-to-dawn photocell) and "30W replaces 70W HID; the 60W replaces 150W HID", fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S21] Auvolar product page, Wall Pack Light TWP 40W/80W, spec table, "Wet location (silicone sealed)" and "replace a 175W metal halide", fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S22] Auvolar product page, Wall Pack Light EMWP Series, spec table and "Wet location", fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S23] Auvolar product page, Photocell, spec table (120 V) and page text (normal-voltage 100–277 V and high-voltage 277–480 V versions; "if photocell fails, lights default to ON"), fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S24] Auvolar product page, Microwave Sensor A-SN09VR-MS-Z10, spec table, fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S25] Sylvania product data, 64321 M400/PS/U, 400 W METALARC PULSE START metal halide: approx. lumens initial 31,000 (horizontal) / 36,000 (vertical), mean 22,400 / 25,500; warm-up time 2–4 min; hot restrike time 5–7 min; average rated life 15,000 h — text extracted 2026-10-08 (stage0/content-audit/data/sylvania-64321.txt)
  • [S26] Auvolar product page, LED Exit Sign Emergency Light EX05 Series, spec table ("UL 924 (Wet locations)", IP65, 2.0 W, 120/277 VAC 60 Hz, discharge 90 minutes), fetched 2026-10-08
  • [S27] Auvolar company facts (src/lib/company-facts.ts, ruling 2026-09-20): WARRANTY_FULL and SHIPPING_FULL wording